Letranites reap awards at 38th CMLI Graders Convention

Dennis T. Apostol October 21, 2017


Representatives from the Basic Education Department held high the banner of Letran during the 38th Annual National Graders Convention of the Children’s Museum and Library, Inc. (CMLI) held last August 31 to September 4 at Teacher’s Camp in Baguio City.

The fourteen delegates from Letran tested their skills against 455 other students from 29 public and private schools nationwide. Their performance enabled Letran to be one of the top performing schools of the competition.

The convention was divided into two categories: Competitions for Excellence and Competitions for Entertainment.

Extemporaneous Speaking, Essay Writing, News Writing, Poster Making, Poetry Writing, Pop Quiz Hotshots, Malikhaing Pagbasa, and Story Telling were under Competitions for Excellence while Hip Hop Dancing, Mini Me, Reader’s Theater, Solo Singing, Talent Variety Show, and Mr. and Ms. Graders Con 2017 were under Competitions for Entertainment.

Here are the names of the Letranites who received awards in various contests:

Josh Gabriel Pelaez – Champion, Extemporaneous Speaking in Filipino

Josh Gabriel Pelaez – Outstanding in Journalistic Writing Workshop

Martin Emmanuel Agliam – Champion, Hip Hop Dance  Competition

Ryan Zachary Moreno

Kate Iris Tan

Lenuel Escama

Andrei Ofilan

Samara Rose Paderes

Louise Gianna Bernardo – 2nd Runner-up, Essay Writing in English

Louise Gianna Bernardo – Outstanding in Malikhaing Pagsulat Workshop

Alphonso Cyrus Salvador - Outstanding in Malikhaing Pagsulat Workshop

Antonio Luis Hiceta – Mr. CMLI Graders Con 2017, 2nd Runner-up

Kate Iris Tan - Ms. CMLI Graders Con 2017, 2nd Runner-up

Lynuel Escama – Outstanding in Theater Workshop

Andrei Ofilan - Outstanding in Theater Workshop

Aira Wincess Maxima Tecson – Finalist, Extemporaneous Speaking in English

Samara Rose Paderes- Finalist, Solo Singing Competition

Dennis T. Apostol – Service Award ( Coach & Teacher-Adviser )


The following students were also selected as Commission Heads and Commission Rapporteurs:

Commission Head:      1. Alphonso Cyrus Salvador

                                    2. Samara Rose Paderes

                                    3. Kate Iris Tan

                                    4. Andrei Ofilan

Commission Rapporteur: 1. Louise Gianna Bernardo

                                      2. Victor Roy Ramirez

Other official delegates who joined competitions and workshops were Victor Roy Ramirez, Denise Lorraine Superable, and Miguel Jae Asido. They were accompanied by their teacher-adviser, Dennis Apostol and Paolo Crisanto Nuguid, their dance coach.

The said convention also included the following events: Orientation and Acquaintance Socials, Opening Ceremonies, Symposium, Commission Discussions, Literary Musical, Workshops, and Disco Socials.