Outstanding alumni conferred with Letran 400 Medal

January 13, 2017


In a night filled with camaraderie, nostalgia, and gratitude, select alumni – all former Letran Awardees – were conferred with the Letran 400 Medal last January 12 in an Appreciation Dinner at Greenmeadows Ave. in Quezon City.

Hosted by the Letran Alumni Association (LAA), the Dinner recognized former Letran awardees, honoring them as part of the “Grandes Figuras”, or Letran’s 400 Great Men and Women. It was attended by the Colegio’s administrators, the awardees, and LAA officers who would later on be formally inducted.

“It's about appreciating people, appreciating Letranites who have done well. In a sense, recognizing the value that they give back to the Colegio. That is what we are celebrating: value, people, Letran.,” Rev. Fr. Clarence Marquez, OP said in his opening remarks.

The alumni who received the Letran 400 Medal were Frank Eizmendi, Capt. Benhur Gomez, Jack Rodriguez, Jimmy Cura, Gualberto Picache, Wilmon Yu, Rudolf Hines, James Velasquez, Cesar Zalamea, and Rev. Fr. Pompeyo de Mesa, the Colegio’s rector from 1980 – 1986.

The Awardees will have the opportunity to share their success stories in their respective fields of endeavor to the Letranites in form of seminars, conventions, or round table discussions.

To make the night more special, Ruben Palisoc, an accomplished lyricist, composer, and a Letranite, regaled the guests with the “Deus, Patria, Letran”, the official Quadricentennial Song. It was composed by Palisoc and Asst. Prof. Rodio Batayen of the Religious Education Area.

The Colegio also took the opportunity to invite the alumni and officially announce the Letran Awards 2017 which will be held on March 23 at the Blue Leaf Cosmopolitan in Quezon City. The Awards will recognize alumni who have lived out the school’s core ideals – Deus, Patria, and Letran.

The Awards are distinguished as such: San Vicente Liem de la Paz Award (Most Distinguished Alumnus), Fray Diego de Santa Maria Award (Public Service), Pres. Manuel Quezon Award (Government Service), Knights of Letran (Outstanding Professional Award), Don Juan Geronimo Guerrero Award (Letranism), and Pres. Jose Laural Sr. Award (Meritorious Service).

The event was hosted by Ivy Rose Villanueva of the LAA.