Letran routs San Beda to capture the NCAA 92 Juniors Chess title

OAPA September 21, 2016


The Squires blanked the San Beda Red Cubs, 4 – 0, last September 17 at the Jose Rizal University gymnasium to regain the championship, the Colegio’s third this season.

With an easy victory by Eric Yap on Board 3, followed by Alexis Oseña’s Board 4 win, Letran needed only a draw to seal the deal. However, Melito Ocsan and rookie Mark Daluz downed their respective opponents, en route to the crown.

“I am very happy that I was able to help Letran,” said Daluz. “[Our win] added to Letran’s championships [this season].”

The 14-year old was hailed as the Board 1 gold medalist and the NCAA 92 Juniors MVP.

National Master Roland Joseph Perez was awarded Coach of the Year.
“The boys just kept the faith,” he said in an interview.*

Other members of the championship team were Manolo Martinez, Princess Ballete, and Kristian Valenzuela.

It was the Squires fourth title in the last five seasons, winning in Season 88 until 90, before relinquishing the crown to San Beda last season.

This month also, the Squires, along with their senior counterparts, claimed the NCAA 92 Badminton title.